An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Childhood

This is the street I grew up on until I left home to get married.

The large conifer tree on the left of the pic was in my garden and when first planted, was so small, I was able to jump over it!

My childhood home (and the other houses surrounding it - the homes of other family members and friends) no longer exist they were demolished recently in the name of re-generation.  I previously blipped about this here and here

To counteract the sadness I feel at the loss of my childhood home, I thought I would inject some fun into today's blip (and further meet today's childhood challenge) by sharing with you my diary entry for this date in 1980 when I was 13 years old, and living on the above street.

Names have been changed to protect the guilty!  LOL!

Dear Diary - Tuesday 3rd June 1980

Got up at 6.30 and washed my hair.  Had breakfast and read some of my Jackie.  Brian let off a stink bomb on the school bus.  Got oral Latin test.  Think I passed.  Didn?t get maths as Mrs Green was on strike.  Played Consequences in Miss Steven?s room instead of assembly.  Doing plays about death in English.  Played netball at PE.  I scored 3 goals!  Sports Day tomorrow.   Anne got ducked in the sink in the 3rd year loos as it?s her birthday.

Went to the chippy at lunchtime.  Graham was there.  I really like him even though he stinks of petula oil.  He makes me laugh.  He walked back to school with me and stole some of my chips.  At afternoon break, Ian told Anne that Graham fancies me and might ask me out at the Youth Club disco on Friday.  Hope he does although I quite like James as well.

Had ham salad for tea.  Anne came for me and we went to the park.  Played on the swings and pushed her really fast on the roundabout.  Went to her house.  She got a new top, new jeans and a Blondie poster for her birthday.  I bought her Dexy?s single Geno and the Theme from M.A.S.H.  She says I can tape them.  She fancies Martin and thinks he will be at the dico on Friday as well.  I?m going to wear my red Pepe dungarees and white shirt.  Anne?s going to wear her new jeans and top.  

Came home at 9pm, had toast then went to bed.



Hahahahaha.....those were the days!!  Hormones kicking in and fancying the boys but still liking a go on the swings and roundabout!!!!  LOL!

Beautiful sunny day here today and off out for lunch with my sis in law.  Hope you're all having a great Friday.  Catch up with the blips later.  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.