Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Focusing on the wrong thing.

All things 'camera' going wrong today.

Down to Chanonry point today to see the dolphins. My brother and I turned up to the beach to see a few dozen, anorak-clad twitchers and general animal enthusiasts sitting around on the pebbles. Most people had a camera with them and some, who were obviously serious wildlife photographers, had lenses long enough to take a dolphins eye out.

Being the animal prophet and general wildlife whisperer that I am, as soon as I got to the beach the dolphins came out to play and everyone rushed down to the water side. I got through 2 or 3 shots when suddenly the shutter stopped clacking. I got a hot rush and looked at the back of my display and saw that my battery pack needed changing.

It's like one of those frustrating dreams you have where you're in a great photography situation but can't take pictures. I spent the rest of the time tracking the water trying to second guess the dolphin's moves. The only thing I could do was flick the camera on for a second, take a photo, turn the camera off and hope it saved okay. Bloody nightmare. At least I only live 10 minutes away.

I did get other photos besides this but I think this sums up the fact that nothing went right.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.