Master Mariner

By MasterMariner

Butterfly and Sextant

The tug 'Retriever' left Point Noire (Congo) on march 13th. On march 16th, while hundreds miles offshore a butterfly flew on board and rested on my sextant on the chart table. It was too dark to take a picture without a flash so I shifted first the sextant and the butterfly very carefully aside. Then i moved the seachart to a spot on the floor in direct daylight and then the sextant back on the chart. The butterfly however wouldn't open her wings. I waited ten minutes but she refused to show me her wings. Then i touched her very gently and immediately she responded by opening her wings.
I only shifted the colors of this picture into black and white, without the colors of the butterfly itself.
Pretty unusual to do this kind of work with a butterfly in the middle of the South Atlantic Ocean

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.