SoozaDay

By soozaday

More Baby Pictures

That's what it feels like: making people look at photos of the grandkids... I'm just in love with caterpillars and their whole transformation process. This guy has been getting fatter and fatter outside on the fennel plant, and because today was to be unseasonably stormy I decided to bring him inside for safekeeping. I have an acrylic box that I fit with some fronds and a few sturdy sticks. Timing was perfect! Within hours he found the perfect stick and began the complicated process of anchoring his body to the support. Swaying from side to side, he steadily spun countless fine white silk loops that now hold him securely as he begins the next phase of making a hard chrysalis. The spinning took about an hour, and I was lucky enough to watch most of the process.

Join us tomorrow as we watch the grass grow...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.