A Sasanach's Skye photos

By Sasanach

William Shakespear

My copy, bought used by my grandmother, was originally a gift to someone called E Mynors from his friend LL Ferard upon his leaving Eton on December 5th 1839.

Even though it is a second hand book I treasure it like it is a family heirloom. I love it. When I received it the spine was broken and an aquaintance from an antiquarian book shop repaired it for me.

I shall always treasure it. I hope one day one of my children will feel about it the way I do and that it will not become just another used book that someone will buy. However should this be the case I wish that the new owner will get as much pleasure from it as I have.

Inside the flyleaf it reads;
The Plays of William Shakspear,
accurately printed from the text of the corrected copies,
left by the late
George Steevens, Esq.
and
Edmond Malone, Esq.
------------------------
With a sketch of his life, and a glossary.
The year MDCCCXXXVIII

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.