Sarah Shepard Photography

By SSP

Tagged.

I probably shouldn't be posting this, as it is hard evidence of a crime. But a stunt this gnarly deserves to be documented.

In the art program here, about 10 girls- including myself- grew to be really tight. We spent a lot of time hanging out, drinking, laughing, painting, bar- hopping and generally getting into trouble together. But as we all graduate, move, and start real lives, there are only a few of us left in town. So when we get a chance to see each other, it is a special occasion.

Amanda, a former art girl, was visiting from New Mexico a few weeks ago, so we decided we must do something to leave our mark. Because we aren't keen on peeing on hydrants, graffiti seemed like the logical alternative. (Those who know me know I've done my fair share of graffiti in the past, so I had a little experience.)

I made this stencil of a certain printmaking teacher who is sort of a hero to some of us. With rubber gloves and spray paint, Amanda and I hopped out of the car and tagged a few key spots like the couple of reprobates we are.

And although it rained that night, and surely smudged up our precious portraits, the memories from her visit will last much longer than the spray paint ever could.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.