Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Sunglow...

Back surveying Portholme today, but again no pictures. The sun was shining when we started but by the time we got to the most flower-rich area, it had clouded over and the wind had got up. One last chance tomorrow...

We made good time with our quadrats and returned home in the early afternoon to help care for the baby crow. After putting it in a tree yesterday evening, there was no sign of the parents, so we brought it in for the night and gave it some mealworms to keep it going.

We tried putting it out in the garden again this morning, but established that it definitely can't fly. In fact we only just managed to rescue it from one of our cats who had chased it down from the tree we placed it in.

So for the time being we're feeding it on a mix of mealworms, scrambled egg, dog food and minced beef. At first it was a bit of a struggle, but it's now accepted us as surrogate parents and gapes obligingly. It's also started pecking a bit for itself and we're trying to let it have some flyng practice. Hopefully we'll be able to release it back into the garden in a week or so, as soon as it can fly.

I must admit that my blip mojo isn't strong at the moment, mostly because there's so much going on in the rest of my life that I don't have any energy left for photography. I searched round the garden late this afternoon and found the sun shining through this orange rock-rose - just the injection of colour and light I need.

I'm sorry the comments have been a bit sparse - I'm sure I'll get back in the swing when the exam period ends. Only a week to go now!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.