Dunsapie Loch

For the first time in ages, I cycled round the Queen's Drive in Holyrood Park this morning, well before the tourists had even lifted their heads from their pillows and climbed into their tour bus.

If you run round, it is possible to go anti clockwise or clock wise, but on a bike it is one way clockwise which means a long downhill freewheel from the Dalkeith Road past Holyrood to St Margaret's Loch and the swans, before starting to climb.

Then there is just over a mile of single width, twisty, lung busting ride up to Dunsapie Loch and a photo stop.

His Lordship and I have both run and cycled this way many times over the last few years, but it never seems to get any easier.

This morning my fitness level was shown to be below par when a runner overtook me and disappeared into the distance. This is comparable to having someone dressed as a Womble pass you in the London Marathon, and yes, to my shame, it has happened.

How are the mighty fallen. I was crushed but not defeated this morning and the blip opportunity stop at the top made it all worth while.

Although sunrise was two hours earlier, I caught the rays of the sun just appearing over the high ground at the east side of the loch.

Since then, the sun has gone into hiding and some of the magic of having the early morning and sun all to myself, has gone.

PS I've just looked back at last year's entry to see a blip of Paddington Bear standing outside the charity shop with his luggage. How could I have abandoned him like that?
It brings a tear to my eye as I write.
I vaguely remember someone telling me they had bought him because they couldn't stand seeing him so lonely, but for the life of me I can't remember who it was, or I might buy him back. He still seems like one of the family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.