Practice

I've been really intrigued by the Momentum contest, so I thought I'd start trying out action shots. I've been testing on my boys, but nothing has been presentable (not saying this is...but you know).

I went outside this evening after putting my boys down for bed. I was out first with my wide angle and found pretty much nothing useful. So I went inside and switched to my macro lens hoping there was enough light left to find something. When I stepped out, I heard skates on pavement. Finally a chance to try out panning with my camera.

Notes to self: I can see how it would have been better had he been moving a bit quicker. The scenery behind is very distracting. I almost feel I have to explain the dunes behind him otherwise it starts to look a bit like a pirate ship sail attached to the power pole.

Anyways....I wished I had the guts earlier today on two occasions. The first was when stopping at a light next to an older man in leather on his Harley. I could have rolled my window down and asked for a quick portrait. Could being the key word. Then I spotted two characters near the grocery store holding the sign, "Why lie? I need beer." I considered stopping there too but the police had pulled someone over right where they were standing, and I think they thought he was after them. They were quick to vacate.

My husband is on his way to Seattle right now with his parents. They tried to make it to Seattle from Phoenix today, but it didn't work out. So they hopped a flight to our home, and now he's driving them up. It's his older brother's graduation tomorrow. He's receiving his Master's, and we are very proud.

Well that was my third fourth yawn while writing this. G'night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.