Look, See, Click

By lookseeclick

A moment of reflection in a hall of hell

It dawned on me last night why I've been feeling so nackered recently. It was relief. A small insurance policy that I took out 20 years ago has matured and will give me a financial breathing space for another 12 months providing my income and our outgoings remain about the same. Hopefully, our income will increase but I'm not pinning my hopes on that happening. We'll do what we can. It would be lovely if I could just say, bugger it, let's get tickets to WOMAD or let's book a couple of weeks in the sun but, to be honest, we both agree that it's best to take things steady and then maybe in a year see how things are then. WOMAD will still be there.

So: what little treats are we having?
- lights that work for my bike! (sorted that out today)
- a new pair of specs for Rol
- new knickers for me
- new socks for Rol
- Roundup to kill the bindweed (sprayed this morning - I feel like a murderer)
- couple of spiky things to hang lanterns from that you shove into the ground

In my search for the 'spiky things' I found myself in a hell-hole that is called a shopping mall. Raising my eyes heavenward with a prayer to whoever looks after people who can't find their way out I spotted the roof. And this rather nice reflection.

The search for the spiky things was fruitless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.