Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Not a field of poppies...

I knew it was going to be a warm day so I took the dogs out early, as Gemma can't really cope with walks in the heat any more. I decided to head out towards Old Sulehay, as I'd spotted a rather spectacular poppy field there a few days ago (when it was grey and very windy), and had been meaning to return in the early morning to photograph it.

I couldn't believe my eyes when I arrived to find that the farmer had ploughed it up!! I was so angry - it had been such a beautiful sight. However, when I felt more rational I'm sure he only did it to prevent them seeding - after all the old saying is 'one year's seed - seven years weeds'.

So once again I've resorted to the damselflies around the garden pond. We seem to have four resident large red damselflies, and one pair were laying eggs earlier today - while this male was trying to chase them off. Here he was having a bit of a rest from his territorial patrolling. And at least he's red! I was also pleased to note that there are plenty of toad tadpoles in the pond.

Other news from today:
- Chris found a broad-leaved helleborine in the local wood I'm surveying, possibly a new record for the site.
-he also found a dead red-tailed or hill cuckoo bee, a species currently considered to be nationally scarce
-Russell is getting increasingly independent and troublesome. I think he might be ready to leave us soon :)

Sorry for the rather sporadic commenting - life's a bit busy at the moment - but at least we have the last exam tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.