To the North and Beyond

An unexpectedly glorious morning, but the weather forecast is not good. We can only hope we make it to the station dry, to catch the train to Aberdeen and the boat to Shetland.

I have my sea sickness pills to hand because of the reputation of the Pentland Firth and ferry crossings to the Northern Isles.
His Lordship seems confident about his sea legs, but I'm not sure he has done any sea crossings between the Scottish Islands. I have, and I know how dreadful it can be, so I'm putting up a little prayer to the patron saint of sea travel. I must look him up on Google to be sure I've got the right man.*

I had a quick practice ride round the block earlier, just to get used to handling the bike loaded down with panniers and bar bag. You can't be too careful when you have to negotiate the perils of central Edinburgh on a Friday mid day.

Now there are just last minute things to sort out, and we're off. Au Revoir!

* Maybe good old St Christopher will have to do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.