The second half of life..

By twigs

Ouch!

As usual, the day started with my alarm dragging me from the depths of beautiful, peaceful slumber into the cold darkness of a new winter's morning. And as usual, I tried to resist the dragging....

I stretched to silence it but couldn't reach, so I propped myself onto my elbow, hutched myself towards the noise and reached across my body with my other arm........

Youch!!

Something burned through my shoulder/back area......

I eventually peeled myself from my bed and showered - the hot water on my back and shoulder felt soooooo good. I got dressed in a semi-conscious state (as usual!) and headed off to work.

It very soon became very apparent that the hurt I'd felt earlier was worse than I'd initially thought - I could hardly move my arm/shoulder! It also became apparent that it was going to be pretty darned hard to teach PE in this state. Fortunately, I was able to book a physio appointment for mid-morning and my classes were taken by someone else :)

The physio did a bit of bending me and stretching me then a bit of manipulation. Thunk! Clunk! Click!! Bits moved back into place and with one thunk in particular, the pain almost instantly dissolved. Yay! I love that feeling :)

Came home early and spent the afternoon in front of the fire with a wheat bag draped across my back. It feels a lot better than it did but it's still not right. At least I can move more freely now though.

Physio said to take pain killers if it continued to hurt but as I don't do drugs - not even pharmaceutical drugs - I'll have to figure out an alternative if it's still painful in the morning.

G'night - sleep tight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.