Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Dill daisy

The Latin name is Argyranthemum frutescens and I had not heard the term "dill daisy" until I looked it up on Wikepedia today.

I bought a couple of these at the wonderful Hadrian's Wall Farmers' Market at Greenhead last weekend. Today I pottered a bit in the garden and managed to clear a space in the herbaceous border for this one. I really wanted to photograph bumblebees, but it was very windy and the light was fading, so that was a no go.

While I was taking a few images, I noticed the tiny red mite that was dashing about on the petals. I have left it there, probably seen only in large. What I had not noticed was the variation in the depth of yellow tones in the flower, with that concentration around the central florets.

Been a bit under the weather so I had to cancel a walk with BJ today, a great pity, but unavoidable. Hope to be fighthing fit tomorrow for the wine tasting which is here. The cinammon pavlova is in the oven as I type and smells delicious

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.