Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Steely sky

Firstly many, many thanks for all the kind and supportive comments on yesterday's blip. I was really touched - this is truly a warm and supportive place to be.

Today's choice of blip has been relatively easy. I only took six photographs in total, three of which I deleted immediately! After a morning of necessary chores, Pete and I led a walk at Orton Pit for our Wildlife Trust local group this afternoon . We had a good turn out, including four of our neighbours. But I can never seem to photograph anything when I'm leading an event - I suppose I can only really concentrate on one thing at a time!

We left the house in glorious sunshine but just ten minutes later the sky ahead had turned steely grey - and looked very ominous. I was struck by the contrast in colours between the sky and the livid yellow-green of the wood small-reed growing on the clay spoil heaps, and managed to sneak in a few shots while I was waiting for the group to assemble.

You can probably guess what happened next... there was torrential rain and we all sheltered in our cars for the twenty minutes or so that it took for the shower to pass. During that time we were entertained by a red kite hovering low over the cars, desperately trying to steer a straight course in the buffeting winds.

Fortunately the weather improved, though the heavy rain had turned the paths into slippery quagmires, and the clay stuck to everybody's boots, making them inordinately heavy. Despite this we saw a good range of wildlife including a great crested newt, a baby grass snake and a slow-worm, and everyone seemed to have a good time.

This evening we've had a special Father's Day meal, as Chris is going back to Sheffield tomorrow morning. The boys and I cooked up another Caribbean feast - jerk lamb, rice and peas and squash with chilli, not to mention an intriguing salad made with lettuce, crispy fried apple and pomegranate. It was reall;y lovely to have all three boys together - and there was heaps of fun and laughter!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.