Sea Legs

Today, I took my mother to Morecambe. Before you ask what she did to deserve a punishment like that, I'd like to clarify that it was entirely her idea (and furthermore, that's not her in the picture).

We went through the usual Morecambe rigmarole; visited the Old Pier Book Shop, had lunch at the Palatine, wandered around the statues of Eric Morecambe and the promenade birds. We discussed the refurbished Midland Hotel, and whether it would ever again attract guests of the calibre that it did in the 1920s, when the likes of Coco Chanel and Agatha Christie stayed there (the latter inspired by her time in Morecambe to write the seminal mystery Death Rides Up The Polo Tower).

Any road, this bloke was sat just by the Eric Morecambe statue gazing intently across the bay at the Lakeland fells. I decided to see if I could capture it in a postcardy, seasidesque way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.