Riverside Museum - 4

Well today was the day the Glasgow Riverside Museum of Transport finally opened. I managed to be there for the first hour although it was very busy. In fact when I left there was a mad scramble for my parking space.

I think its going to be like that for a few weeks with the bad weather and the school holidays about to start its likely to be buzzing.

I may pop in briefly again tomorrow but it I'll probably leave it a while before having a really good look.

First impressions were that it is a first class attraction. One or two people remarked on the fact that some exhibits are more like an art installation than a museum but I quite like this. The fact that, for example, there are lots of vehicles mounted on the walls and therefore not available for close scrutiny or hands-on is a bit different from the usual museum exhibit but they do look good and make maximum use of the space. It did feel a bit cramped but I think that will improve when the initial crowds drop off a bit.

This was about the only picture I got without people crowding round it. Its the Subaru Impreza driven by Colin McRae winning the 1995 World Rally Championship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.