The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

A visitor

Roe deer, our garden

This wasn't the intended blip today, I had a photo of Rowan the Collie leaping the fish pass on a weir on the River Kent.

Wifie spotted this handsome roe buck in the garden from an upstairs window. So we are still having visitors, and notice the plural, since the last animal was a roe hind. Had he been there since before we came home, hidden behind the taller shrubs that screen this part of the garden? Or had he boldly walked in past the cars after we got home?

Although bold, he was easily spooked. A single shot from the camera with the first floor window open was enough. Initially he retreated deeper into the garden, but then made a bolt for it through the flower beds and past Bob who was hunting mice near the entrance drive.

I think I have successfully barricaded the vegetable garden, but I am going to have to try Cabbagetree's suggested technique for deterring them from entering the main garden. This one was enjoying the Irises.

Thanks for all the good will messages after my report yesterday about my Dad going into hospital. I spoke to him this evening, and he was on good form, but he is still waiting to see the haematologist. I've decided I will travel down tomorrow and stay over for a few days at least. This probably means I will be out of blip range for a while.

You can see Rowan's leap here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.