Nine things to do on a bench ...

... is public art installation which was commissioned by Grainger Town Development Trust in Newcastle. The words are by the poet Julia Darling and are intended to be straightforward and aim to speak to whatever human condition you might be in.

The glass design is by Cate Watkinson and each sheet of glass is supposed to look a bit like a postcard.

- looking up at them
looking down at you

- what do you think?
I'll think about it
think it through
I will, I think

- eating time
coming back for more

- talk
oils
wheels

- wait and see

- meet as rivers do and dance downhill towards a larger sea

- here's my list go out, get kissed

- collect yourself, fold your sky into birds and let them fly

- read between these moving lines

As a long time bench observer I would have to add texting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.