Baggie Trousers

By SkaBaggie

Whisky, You're The Devil

I can't remember the last time I drank whisky in any great quantity. I seem to recall having a dram of scotch a couple of Christmases ago. Prior to that, there was a bit of a tradition whereby I'd take a flask of it out on Bonfire Night to pass around with friends while we watched the fireworks, but in recent years I've switched to dark rum for the evening's revelries.

Anyway, here's a pertinent folk song of the Peninsular War, as performed by The Pogues.


Now brave boys, we're on the march
Off to Portugal and Spain
Drums are beating, banners flying
The Devil a-home will come tonight
So long, fare thee well
With a doodelum the da, a doodelum the da
Me rikes fall tour a laddie-o
There's whisky in the jar

Whisky, you're the devil, you're leadin' me astray
Over hills and mountains and to Amerikay
You're sweeter, stronger, decenter, you're spunkier than tay
O whisky, you're my darlin' drunk or sober

The French are fighting boldly
Men are dying hot and coldly
Give every man his flask of powder
His firelock on his shoulder
So long, fare thee well
With a doodelum the da, a doodelum the da
Me rikes fall tour a laddie-o
There's whisky in the jar

Whisky, you're the devil, you're leadin' me astray
Over hills and mountains and to Amerikay
You're sweeter, stronger, decenter, you're spunkier than tay
O whiskey, you're my darlin' drunk or sober

Says the old wan do not wrong me
Don't take me daughter from me
For if you do I will torment you
After death my ghost will haunt you
So long, fare thee well
With a doodelum the da, a doodelum the da
Me rikes fall tour a laddie-o
There's whisky in the jar

Whisky, you're the devil, you're leadin' me astray
Over hills and mountains and to Amerikay
You're sweeter, stronger, decenter, you're spunkier than tay
O whisky, you're my darlin' drunk or sober

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.