must try harder

By halfcj

Where? I don't see it?

This is Mia. A very sweet little thing needing some shots for her portfolio. Her mum brought her along and tried to get her to do all the usual poses, I'm afraid many were a little clichéd, but it makes them happy. They have it covered.

As is usual, I find, the best shots are those stolen from natural moments, moments when the sitter is oblivious to the camera or distracted by something else going on, whatever, they are not the least bit concerned about posing at that moment you capture the look of shock, horror, amusement, sadness.....etc.

It is one of these very moments that I caught here, and although it will be discarded by Mia's greatest fan, it was my favourite as it captured her character very well. A confident inquisitive little three year old who was starting to be distracted, so I told her if she concentrated very hard, she might see my eye through the lens as I took photographs of her. Fair dues, she did try for lot of shots, she concentrated hard but couldn't see through the lens into mine.

Eventually, she gave up, and came in for a closer look. I told her she had to be quick and watch very carefully. But I'm afraid those insanely white eyes of hers were not ready for any wool pulling today. So I'm afraid the old favourite trick came out....never been known to fail......choccie biscuits!

Now we're talking. Now we're smoking!

She promised to come back again and try harder. May need to figure something out for then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.