Picture Consequences

By consequences

Accumulating

Oh great. Bloody great. That's all I need.

I knew it would be her. Knew it.

What's Julie doing on today? She must've switched shifts, or someone's ill or something.

No luck today, then. Not if she's taking the money. And she knows it too; has done ever since Dave tells her she jinxes every bet I ever put on. I wish I'd never said anything to him. Big-mouthed sod, he is, Dave.

"Hello there, Mr MacQueen," she says, nice as pie. Rubbing it in, pretending she doesn't know she's going to ruin my luck. "Got your slip there, have you?"

Well, I hesitate. But part of me thinks I can't afford to take the risk. I mean, what if just this once, Julie's lucky for me? Before I came in, I had a good feeling about it ... Right. I'm doing it anyway.

As I'm handing the slip over, I think about how most punters kid themselves that they break even - no matter how much they lose.

Stupid buggers.

Mind, I reckon I do though. Definitely.



Story begins here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.