Unknown Soldier

Here I am back after a few days absent without leave.

First a BIG THANK YOU to everyone who commented on my 500th blip. I'd planned to blip all the 500s the crossed my path that day and found myself in the dispensary amongst the 500mg, 500g and 500ml medicines. Lots of 500s but not especially inspiring, but at least they were colourful. Thank you all for the wonderful comments :)

At the weekend I picked up this book, the story of how the Tomb of Unknown Soldier at Westminster Abbey came about. The unknown soldier is the only one of the million British dead to be repatriated. The book describes the experiences of three young men caught up in WWI; a British soldier, a German soldier and an American airman. The story is in their own words, taken from their letters home.

Last night I watch Our War, an amazing documentary of the war in Afghanistan. The story is told by the frontline soldiers, in their own words taken on digital video from official & personal cameras.

The parallels are uncanny considering the conflicts are 100 years apart. The extreme youth of the soldiers, the unseen enemy, the difficult conditions and the horrific damage inflicted. Both the book and the television series are real eye-openers.

On a brighter note I've back blipped the last few days;
Rain again
Closed

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.