earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Rush Hour

A stronger sense of history viewed large

So, the end of the working week, and the final episode in this series of blips. The pictures taken from Monday through to Thursday (Bottomless, Keep Out, Surface Tension and High Traverse) were all shot from the spot you can see here, bottom centre, at the foot of this wonderful old bridge (previously blipped last month from the other side entitled Cobbled Arc). You will recognise the reeds. I was hoping my snail was still going to be visible, but it had evidently completed its precarious journey over the reed bed!

This area is surrounded by old mills and this bridge is showing considerable wear and tear as a result of the fall of countless feet over the ages. It doesn't see too much pedestrian traffic these days, but I didn't have to wait too long for this suit to come along and enable me to grab a similar blip to the one I almost posted yesterday. Just behind me is the railway line that I had just come in on, and behind that a busy road full of morning commuter traffic. All that activity just a few yards away but here it is possible to enjoy an altogether different experience of 'rush hour'. It's been a joy this week taking this slightly longer walk to the office. I imagine that not too many people know about this path. It's visible, fleetingly, from the train, but you need to know where to look. It sits at the end of Dock Lane in Shipley, leading to a little brackish outlet of the canal which must once have been itself a hive of activity. No longer.

Just to note, for those who have been following my Thursday night shenanigans with the cycle club, that I managed to mix it with those on the A ride yesterday. Having posted my blip already, I left the camera behind to ensure I had no excuses not to hang in there all the way around what was a seriously hilly and fast ride. But it was hard. And I don't mean just the cycling. It was hard not having the camera with me. The evening light was amazing, with brooding dark clouds to the east. I kept seeing the most gorgeous potential blips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.