Return to the North

By Viking

Bush Robin

Went out with TeeJay my blip buddy today for a coffee at the Red Barn. I didn't take my camera because really wasn't in the mood for more animal blips from the farm today. After coffee teeJay decided she was going up the Matakitaki valley for a blip hunt, so we called in for my camera and i went too.
Took lots of photos (81 to be exact) trees, moss, fungi etc. Started heading back to the car when I kept hearing this whooshing sound behind me. Like in all good comedy sketches every time I turned round I couldn't see anything, but knew a bird was somewhere close. No glasses on didn't help! TJ walked on but I stopped, turned round, walked a bit further etc and my patience was rewarded. A little Bush Robin flew into the trees close by ( at this stage I could only see a grey blur but pointed the camera anyway!) I stood still and the wee thing came cautiously flew closer, closer and closer still until it hopped within 2-3ft of my left foot. I barrelled off 62 photos of it. I just couldn't believe it and finger was glued to the shutter.
This shot isn't the closest shot but I think it gives the best shot of it in full view.

I have added others at here and here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.