Preparation is everything

Today, Corin and I went to visit Jenny and Andrew.

We are in the priviledged position of being their wedding photographers in 3 weeks and 6 days!

I confided to Jenny not so long ago that I was bricking myself (I don't want to swear!) about doing it. Pressure etc. Dunno why - I have done 4 weddings to date.

However, after spending the afternoon with the two of them together, I now have absolutely no worries.

I work with Jenny. Corin has never met either of them before today, and I have not met Andrew previously. We have bantered, sometimes at Jenny's expense, via facebook, but not met.

So, I have been exceptionally businesslike for a portion of the day. We visited the church and have figured out plan of action for that phase of the day. Did some test shots inside, with no lights on and only the dull light from a humid and very cloudy Lake District afternoon filtering through the windows. They worked and without racking up the ISO too high as well. Happy Days!

Then we drove over to the reception venue, making a stop on the way for hangover remedies for some of the party (chocolate and fizzy pop).
The venue is set in the most fabulous grounds and surroudings. So many places to do some really personal/intimate/romantic shots of the two of them but also plenty of room to do the formal/group shots.

Lunch (lovely, thank you Jen!) and then the notebook came out. I have copious notes about who, what, when and all of the associated dynamics - who can't stand next to who etc etc.

This photo is as a result of me saying to the two of them that there "would be no snogging photos". I clarified by explaining that sometimes "kissing" photos hide the faces and therefore the emotion. However, a nose touch or forehead touch is equally as intimate, but still allows for the faces to be framed properly. Then I suggested they practice. Jenny went in for a nose lick instead.

So, given the fun and silliness, and also how obviously relaxed these two are in each other's company, I feel content that we are prepared and that there is enough humour there to ensure we get plenty of cracking shots for them on the day. I'm looking forward to it immensely.

Now, I just have to write up the plan and cross check before the day.

Thanks again you two :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.