Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Coupled and Inseparable

"And wheresoe'er we went, like Juno's swans,
Still we went coupled and inseparable."


- Celia, in Shakespeare's "As You Like It"

These lorikeets roost in the evenings in the trees lining the main street I walk along to the train station. I've been really struck by the fact that they are mostly in pairs. I thought I was anthropomorphising wildly, until I read that in fact the lorikeets have a very strong pair-bond.

So I went even more awwwwwwwwwwwwwww ;-)

Actually, when I see them flying around they're mostly in pairs too.

Of course the light is low, the trees are bare, the contrast between birds, tree and sky is too great, so it's not a crisp detailed photo (worse yet, I had to crop it a bit), but it does show one of these roosting pairs that make me go awwwwwwww.

(Lumix G10, iPad, Photogene)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.