Memory Box

An email out the blue to tell me that my old Uni pal, JI, had died about a year ago. We hung out together a lot at Uni; he was an amazing and unique guy. Mental for anything jazz that was way out there, and a wonderful natural drummer, he was quite unconstrained by society around him. Ha, that had its challenges too.
Here we are - the Honours graduation class, eh? That's me at the extreme right and JI next to me - a photo I eventually found again this evening.
Not long after that his life changed dramatically and forever. He was hit by a bus backpacking in France, was brought back to the UK in a coma, and never fully recovered. We used to go visit him and he made it up here, but it was pretty tragic and over the years I guess we all fell out of touch. I'll always remember how he was back then, "Home of Golf" spray painted on the back of his jacket. Ach, Jimmie, Jimmie.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.