As seen by me...

By GrantR

Looking at you...

Bloody weather. While the majority of the country basks in near 30 degree heat what do we have? The usual. Even while taking this shot I was so wet my eyebrows had ceased to do the job they were designed to do and were merely decoration above my waterlogged eyes. I could, of course, have stopped taking pics but the fly wanted to pose and when the fly wants to pose, you take his picture.

I had originally started trying this with 3 macro extension tubes fitted to try and get even closer in on this magnificent beast but the flash didn't care for them and it ended up being a frustrating experience.

What I have noticed though, is the lack of decent sized insects. You can see the size of this one, that's one of those nasty nylon washing lines he's sat on. Tiny! I need a good Greenbottle or something for some proper detail. Must get the macro out into the woods soon, or start leaving the dogs turds out the back, they might attract some decent subjects!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.