Jobsworth!

This is the Lowry Building at Salford Quays.

This is an image I went back to take after being hassled by a security guard from the shopping mall behind me.

I was a little rushed as I didn't want a load of hassle again, so it's not a brilliant job.

When I was there earlier it was a bit too light, but I thought I'd have a go anyway.

Behind me a voice says

"Excuse me, you cant do that!"

What?

"Take photographs."

Are you serious? This is one of the most iconic buildings in the North West. It has appeared in thousands of newspaper and magazine articles.

Anyway, it's a public place, I can take photographs in a public place!

He goes into defensive mode now...

"Well I don't know about that, but my mate on the CCTV says you can't"

Well I'm telling you I can.

At this point my colleague, who has been standing quietly by, watching and listening, chips in with.....

It's a public place, he can take photographs and your mate is talking absolute bollocks!

Then proceeds to walk of slowly laughing and shaking his head.

The poor security guard is then reduced to "well it's not me saying it, it's him up there." (pointing at a CCTV camera)

Anyway I decide to retreat and take photos of the BBC buildings.

Later I decide I had unfinished business at the Lowry and head back. I get a couple of shots and head back to the hotel, stopping again near the BBC buildings.

Spotting an unusual angle on some globe shaped flowers I squat down to get the right angle.

At this point the BBC security guard wanders over and says...
"are you taking pictures?"

I say yes.


He says
"Oh ok then" and wanders back to the front of the building.


See, that's how it should be done!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.