an itching in my thumbs

By itchythumbs

Bridget

EDIT: Also, if anyone cares one iota, I backblipped yesterday.

So, at the risk of my head exploding, I want to drop some bombs. Like, 5 of them, to be exact.

1. On Saturday, one of the Texas 4000 riders on the Sierra route (the ride and route I did last year) was hit by a car. Thankfully, we can now say that not only is he going to be fine, he also only broke his nose and suffered a small crack to his eye socket and bad road rash. He has even chosen to stay with the team for now, riding along in the van, as he was cleared to do so by doctors. This is all good news, because I was really worried about this all weekend.

2. Yesterday, one of my best friend trifecta (which includes Leah, Megan, and the person I'm talking about now, Jessica) had a really hard day. She awoke to her boyfriend having an unexplained seizure, and the day went downhill from there. He was taken to a hospital where he received less than adequate care (they wrote off the seizure as a drug interaction and told him he broke his arm). A few trips over the course of the day proved that his arm was dislocated (and had been for 7 hours before they were able to get it back in). Luckily they were able to get his arm back in, but not before he suffered another unexplained seizure. He is now in the hospital and today was supposed to undergo a lot of testing. I'm still waiting for an update on all this but would appreciate good wishes and thoughts for her and him. She is very dear to me, and by proxy so is he. His name is Redding.

3. I met someone when I was in Texas. In case you didn't gather that from my post several days ago. And it's a good thing. His name is David, and he's Redding's best friend, which is further reason for me to be preoccupied with the events of yesterday.

4. Bridget is a hilariously sweet dog. She loves fetch. Okay, that's not a bomb. FAKEOUT.

5. I am moving back to Texas. I have been offered a position working as the Adult Pre-GED Literacy Program Coordinator at the Arlington Public Library (my hometown). The way it all came about was very serendipitous, and I believe life gives you clues, and things happen for a reason. So I'm going back to the homeland. This means I will be living back in the metroplex, along with my family, Megan (who just left NYC today for DFW), Leah & Brian, Jessica, David, and Taylor (my best friend from the ride). There are so many reasons for this choice, but the number one reason is that it feels right. And that it puts me back in nonprofit work, which is what I desperately want to be doing.

Life is random, weird, and filled with unexplainable things and chance meetings. I am just trying to ride the wave. It's working so far for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.