Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

My how you've grown!

Strolling along Santa Monica beach, into the playground (that is of course before story and puppet show time with Mr Jesse at the library, who, it has to be said, handed Callum a lovely certificate to show that he's completed weekly story times), it occurred to me not only how big Callum has grown, all babyness begone, but how really big Callum has grown! Yes, quite the giant!

All that said, I have a new challenge on my hands. The boys by myself for the next 8 days and I've just let another night nurse go. So I'll be doing the 3 jobs. Is it too much to ask a nurse not to leave an air of smoke in the air, whether some residue on clothes (not smoking on the job of course but my house is smoke free and as natural as I can make it), when my son has chronic lung disease. Zero tolerance. I could have waited, but that's not in my nature. I'd rather try to get by than have a niggly smell poorly disguised by perfume that could pose a health risk, and to both boys.

Blip may just take a back seat, certainly looking and commenting, or on the other hand, it may just keep me sane...

I do thank you all though for the lovely hearts and stars and comments. I wonder how I could print these out and look at them to give me a little more confidence with everything else (beyond photography).
Becki & family from Sunday's shoot (edited by Becki - we did a shoot for shoot)

Techy - trying to imagine this image without the DoF on the little men. Would be really rather cool having them seemingly on the same plane as Callum if I'd shot with a small aperture (eg f22) but I didn't spot that til after. When I saw Callum's pose and the little men, I just sharpened them up a little. He was actually standing up on a structure on the beach dusted with sand and looking down about to climb down, thus the effect that he's looking at the little men. Love it too. And the pp... well it was a looonnng one. You'll often find in light such as this, it's easy for the skin to go orange, but I love me a nice skin tone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.