tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Blue Moon

What else to call it?*

This extraordinary outdoor artwork has  been painted by someone high up above Fishguard Bay where two old clifftop reservoirs have long been left abandoned and partially ruined. I have found  graffiti and artwork here before but never anything as accomplished as this. The eye, to the side, has been executed with especial skill, the pupil, iris and cornea all rendered with almost anatomical precision.

I imagine that, ideally, the image should be viewed by moonlight but a nocturnal visit is hardly to be recommended: the land falls away sharply to the left  and the descent to a deserted bay 100 feet or so below is hazardous (I know because I did it.)

The mural has been cunningly positioned so that the moon face can be seen from the coastal path some distance away. This was blipped in Not Every Day's journal on May 30th

Blue Moon by Elvis Presley. Who else?

* [Edit] I now realise that of course it must be inspired by the song: the words "you saw me standing alone" are represented by the eye.

[Edit] I have subsequently discovered that the mural was executed by a local lad who goes by the name of Carl Smashed Canvas Colella and credit should go to him.

Extra: I also found these rare Cordyceps fungi that destroy and grow on caterpillars.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.