Last light - but not for Mom!

This image was taken at 5.19pm, the time when our sun calls farewell to the day.
It has been a stormy day. rain, on and off, cold, windy - well, after all, it is winter!
Not an ideal day for a discharge from the hospital!

Mom was sent home today: her lungs are clear, no more infection (pneumonia) - yet she keeps on coughing at intervals. To be expected, I guess.
Her heart failure seems to be under control; pulse rate down, and so on.

As good as it can get at 90 years of age.

I am thankful to the doctor and staff who have looked after her for the past eight days: much criticism has appeared in the local news paper about this particular hospital recently. From her admittance, through ICU, High Care and eventually General Ward - she has received only the very best attendance. During visiting hours, had I asked for anything - it was always attended to immediately. What more can a person ask for?

I am thankful and grateful that she has been spared for us, her children. In the end, a person has only ONE mother - and when she is gone, a void is left.

No matter how you look at it.

My afternoon was spent on the telephone line to the medical aid, just making sure that the hospital plan covers all that was hoped for!
And since she had been issued with a prescription with many new drugs, I really had to keep my head together counting out her morning and night time dosage of pills.

The phone did not stop ringing!

And then I realized that the fridge had a problem - the milk was not chilled - everything else inside was not chilled - yes, it was that time of the year - fridge gone.

Tomorrow will be a day of fridge hunting - I have limited wall space - but at this stage, I am so tired that I really do not care all that much.

Good night to all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.