Two Thousand Photos

By ajinternational

4 weeks to go...

My intention was to try and get a photo capturing the spirit of the public sector strikes today - easier said than done!

I wandered round town before and after my afternoon appointment but didn't see any picket lines where I thought they might be...

So instead I'm blipping a photo of my favourite museum in the world.

In just 28 days (give or take a few hours!) the Victorian wing of the National Museum of Scotland will reopen and I can't wait!

There's something really specially about this museum - maybe it's the closest thing I had to Narnia when I was growing up (!) but I've been a lot over the years, and I've seen (and learned) a lot too. The fantastical mystery of the Egyptians. Opulent textiles from Persia. A travelling exhibition on the downfall of the Tsars. Plus the natural history collections that were in serious need of an update - the stuffed animals just had that look on their faces!

There was also some sort of minor argument in the café here with my cousin over who got coke and who got sprite... Maybe my Dad remembers (I'm sure I got the sprite!)

It's a Victorian architectural icon - dating from 1866 - open plan atrium with galleries off, high ceilings, with lots of period features including a grand staircase!

The refurbishment has preserved the history of the building, but by adding extra space and facilities. it's been brought proudly into the 21st Century. I can't wait to rediscover!

However, I fear the Health and Safety regulations of today will mean the two raised goldfish ponds will be consigned to history...

All this excitement for a museum?

Oh aye!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.