earthdreamery

By earthdreamer

Gilded Barn

Truly golden viewed in large

First, I need to thank each and every one of my regular visitors, and the occasional ones too for that matter, for putting me in the spotlight again with Wharfedale Morning. I have to admit that I was rather pleased with the picture myself, so I was doubly pleased that it was received so well. It was taken from a spot I've cycled past countless times before without taking much notice. It was just a little bend in the road which gave a momentary opening on to this large field with a solitary tree. It would have been very easy to miss but my eyes are becoming adjusted now to this new way of seeing.

Which brings me to tonight's shot. Again, this was taken from just beside a road which I've cycled many times previously, but I'd never before noticed this barn. The late evening sun was catching the moss on the roof and on the stonework and making it positively glow with this beautiful golden hue. Of the many shots I took, this one seemed to work best for me, giving a sense of the fact that I did kind of stumble across this out of nowhere. I hope you like it.

We've just said goodbye to a long standing work colleague who is returning to his native Spain, and we have another key person who is now off for two weeks holiday back to her native Latvia, so yours truly is feeling the strain a bit right now at the office. We are only a small team at the best of times. I was forced to sit down and watch the Apprentice with my boys last night (so much fun!) and then out with the cycle club tonight. It's 11pm and I've only just cooked dinner for us all. I fear I'm going to have to again pass up on seeing what everyone else has been up to, so please forgive me for that. The weekend is near. Thank goodness! I'll drop by soon.

NB I took an image on the way to work this morning which could have made the cut on another day. It's on the limit of what my little compact camera can do but I thought it was pretty cool. I called it Killing Machine! This was one very fat ladybird larvae which had clearly devoured a great many aphids. Another title I was thinking about was David versus Goliath, or There's No Escape. Nature in the raw ... but not quite as aesthetically pleasing as the one chosen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.