Copenhagen and Me.

By RtCph

Friday Flowers

So, there was a closing down sale at the Dixons style shop that I bought my camera from and there was a bucket full of filters for £3 a piece. I bought three, none of which fit my camera but one pack was 3 magnifying filters (Hoya HMC 67mm +1,+2 & +3). I have no idea what camera they belong too (or what they should be used for - anyone?) but they might be usefull one day.
Well, my dad was a professional photographer and attempted to teach me a little about his job (although he never let me touch the Nikons or the Hasselblads - I was only 12-15 at the time we tried this "teaching" thing). What I did remember among the many things I have forgotten was him explaining why we were sellotaping a magnifying glass to my instamatic camera to take a picture of his leather boot's ankle pocket..... bare with me. We (he) calculated the focal length of the glass, the camera's and then the distance to the boot, he took a light reading from the boot then checked the ISO and set the apperture and I got bored.
You know what? It's one of the most amazing photos I ever saw. Maybe that's why I like photography.

So I held a magnifying glass to my lens and hoped..... I never was that good at maths.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.