Furnace Lass

By furnacelass

Lift Off

Thank you Blip people , delighted to get my peach rose in the spotlight.

Today started very early with Oscar out for a walk round the village and down by the river. On the way back I spotted a heron at the mouth of the river So after we came back, I settled Oscar in the house then headed back along the shore , got a couple of the usual shots of the heron but as always, as soon as I got anywhere near it flew off.

Went back down after breakfast and spotted it again a bit nearer home. Just as I was about to get a shot fom a reasonable distance two of the local boys appeared with their home made raft , full of excitement and, yes you've guessed it off flew the heron back towards our house. So, patient as ever ,I headed back along the shore keeping it in my sight. Almost thought I was going to lose it when one of our neighbours along the road called out good morning to me and her little scotty dog came bouncing down the banking to the rocks where I was standing. Couldn't believe it , the heron wasn't bothered by this commotion. Thought this must be my lucky day and edged ever so carefully closer . Just as I lifted my camera it lifted off from the rock and I was able to get this shot . rather pleased with this as for once, there was quite good light and the blue of the sky was reflected in the water.

Enjoyed the tennis this afternoon , fabulous final. Then one of my grandsons came out on the loch with me in the small dinghy , quite a strong current so it was hard work keeping close to the shore, good fun though. This was followed by some fun on the trampoline , including gran - took a rain check on the somersaults , left that to them.

Both have now headed home with their mum and taken Oscar with them. heavenly here , so peaceful.

Hope you all had a grand weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.