The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

No egrets

The first of the backblips of our trip to Southampton and back.

I went for my usual early morning walk round the Eling Tide Mill and marina looking for the perfect egret photo. As you can see, I didn't get it. Better luck on Monday?

This is best viewed large for the David and Goliath encounter (although in this case I can report that David did not come off well).

This little robin in my father's garden is maturing fast. He is starting to get his adult plumage, and there is just a trace of his red breast feathers appearing. Compare with the blip of 24 June. There are three young ones still about the garden with both parents, one of which has no tail. One of the juveniles was basking on the warm earth, wings and tail spread.

We had a quiet day with Dad, watching the Wimbledon final in the afternoon - I somehow suspected that Nadal would be overwhelmed and outplayed at his own game.

I must apologise to all those who commented, starred and favourited Saturday's early morning blip. I had hoped I would at least be able to get into Blipfoto to leave comments and make my thank yous, if not to upload a photo, but alas I was unable to connect in to Dad's WiFi. I will catch up with comments on Weds when I have some time and more of a head of steam than now (Tuesday evening).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.