In the moment..

By MoshersMoll

Magical mystery tour!

Which is always fun with an incorrect navigation system & almost an empty tank! Good times! Thanks to my useless tom tom I ended up heading in the complete opposite direction of where I wanted to be, plus it kept insisting I take turn-offs which didn't exist! I can't drive down a cycle path Tom! Totally baffled by it. I've no idea what went wrong with it today.

I eventually arrived at my planned destination of Oostvoorne, a little later than intended to discover the area around the lake (Oostvoornse Meer) completely packed with sunbathers and kids playing around in the fake beach area, which also baffled me seeing as it's so close to the actual beach between Oostvoorne & Westvoorne, (Or so I thought), which is where I was headed to.

I now know why, as most of the Northern part of the coastline is off limits to the public, 'forbidden to access the nature reserve'. I walked the perimeter for what seemed like an eternity, vast area of nothingness. It was a bizarre but enjoyable experience. I couldn't have wandered further from the beaten track if I'd tried!

After another lengthy walk through the sand dunes in blazing mid-afternoon sun I reached the public beach, only to be dismayed to discover I could barely see the sea with the naked eye, the tide was that far out! So all in all, not the relaxing afternoon I envisaged but still enjoyed a great deal of sunshine and exercise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.