David J. Rose

By djrose007

If you thought the aeroplane lamp was bad!

This is my collection of 007 books, cars, films, playing cards, and CD's. Been a Bond fan since seeing 'Dr No' in 1962 in Newcastle.
Couldn't fit my car registration plate in but maybe tomorrow's Blipfoto...!

I always said I would never read a Bond novel that wasn't written by Ian Fleming, and I stuck to that until about 5 years ago when I started reading the Charlie Higson 'Young Bond' novels. They are pretty good and a cross between Bond and 'Boys Own'.

Recently, like last week, I read the latest book 'Carte Blanche' by Jeffrey Deaver. Thoroughly enjoyed it, although purist 007 fans would baulk at the idea of Bond being in his 30's in 2011.

Did not really think much of 'Devil May Care', which is a shame as it was commissioned for Ian Fleming's 100th year. This was written by Sebastian Faulks and while I would read other, non-Bond, Deaver books I don't think I'll bother with Faulks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.