Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Sea

Oh, there were so many potential blips for today, so many things we saw, so much cool stuff to photograph. I'll be posting a few in the Blipfoto Extras album when I've caught up with posting the blips themselves!

The star of the day, of course, was the sea! The Wonderspouse opened the blind on our bedroom window, looked out and exclaimed "Blimey, it's like a Hokusai painting out there!" as he poddled over to put the kettle on to make my tea!

Admittedly, it wasn't QUITE Hokusai level, but it was pretty wavey, much wavier than it had been in May. We ate our breakfast, got dressed, then headed out to admire the waviness - this is, of course, rather exciting to us, since we're somewhat land-locked here in Oxfordshire!

We returned to North Laine, and explored the shops we'd seen the night before. I fell in love with lots of expensive guitars and basses, explored the whole of a large bric-a-brac shop, marvelled at a bead store, and established that the "fascinating thing" we'd seen in a window the night before was in fact a movement for a giant clock - if I'd wanted to buy it, it would have set me back £3000, so I thought I'd better leave it for another day! I adopted the tactic of making a list of everything I might like to buy rather than actually buying, in an attempt to conserve money!!!

We also walked round the outside of the real Pavilion (not the knitted one, which would have been a rather short walk). We didn't go in, since the entry fee was £9.something each, which we thought was a tad too pricey for us. However, the outside was both splendid and barking mad!

Then we headed down to the seafront again, for a crab sandwich, a mackerel sandwich, a tub of fish soup, and a rollmop from The Brighton Smoke House - absolutely DELICIOUS! - before heading towards the pier for pudding!

After not finding an advertised cream tea, the Wonderspouse had a milkshake made with a whole Bounty bar and I had a GIANT pancake with oodles of gloopy cherry stuff and whipped cream! Yum!

At that point the heavens opened, so we finished pudding in a bus shelter before starting to amble back towards our hotel via an AMAZING fabric shop that we'd found in May, and where I purchased several bits of fabric in order to make a fabulous dress when I have a moment!

Having been on our feet for 6 hours we were DEFINITELY tired, so had a bit of a siesta, before popping out to collect fish and chips for supper! Then it was bath and bed once more!

Exhausting being on holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.