One Day Like This

By sennema

Man the pumps!

Well, not the heroic picture the title might suggest. I'll explain once I've introduced someone: this is J., also known as the one with the cap and the oversized jacket from Saturday the 9th. Anyway, it's my hubby J., the one I promised a more flattering picture of.

By the way, I don't quite know why I would mention our niece Roos' name and not his, but I think I just took it from my friend R., a.k.a. Wolfjournal, the one who introduced me to Blip, who refers to S. as S. Since imitation is the most sincere form of flattery, I'll just keep it this way.

Today J. sent me an e-mail at work that it was going to rain really badly this evening. He works at the hoogheemraadschap (water regulation authority, the oldest form of democracy in the Netherlands) and showed me how it worked: 'protocol C' was set in motion, which meant the water level had to be lowered and 'all pumps should be manned immediately'. J. would really like to be one of the guys who are gathered in situations like these, unfortunately for him he has an office job. Maybe some day he will save us all from drowning...

So there we are on the couch, while it's pouring outside. Great moment to play with diaphragm, shutter speed, ISO and portraits. J. was an easy (but after a while a bit grumpy) victim, concentrating on his laptop. And no, he's not picking his nose.

Edit: again the strange shutter speed. I processed it a bit in View NX and that seems to be the problem, the original showed a shutter speed of 1/20". Liked this better though, gonna search for a solution.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.