tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Green is the colour

Spoilt for choice in Hampstead. Should I blip the little troop of horse riders weaving through the traffic with the lead horsewoman looking absolutely daggers (at me?) Or else the beautiful curving brickwork of an old wall in an alley where I was surprised by two coppers (male and female police officers) ambling towards me? I quickly put my camera away in case they suspected me of snooping on a celeb (they're thick on the ground in this area) but no - they said 'that's all right, carry on, take our pictures if you like, feel free...' Extraordinary! In recent years photographers in London have become accustomed to being regarded as potential terrorists or perverts who can be felled and arrested with impunity.

But in the end I've gone for this shot of a group of teenagers filming some footage outside a bookshop in Flask Walk, a quaint old paved shopping lane popular with affluent pedestrians. Walking past them are a curiously co-ordinated couple in green. They are even both carrying green bags. Why? Do they dress to match every day or have they just come from a green-themed event? Who knows?

'Quickness of the eye deceives the mind' Pink Floyd.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.