Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Confederate cash

While John Van de Graaff and I were going through a box of old papers and photos in search of material for me to capture towards my research on his famous father Robert J. Van de Graaff, an envelope was uncovered which had written on it "Confederate currency" and nothing else. I had never seen any before so I asked if I could look at it. John agreed and out came around $750 in Confederate paper money from 1863 and 1864 - a few of them in nice condition, too - likely a holdover from one of John's ancestors who fought in the Civil War. Along with them was this stock certificate for 3 shares and (not shown) a 1924 copy of Robert's birth certificate; presumably needed for his upcoming PhD studies at Oxford.

Yesterday's blip: Shouldn't that say Jose's?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.