All that is beautiful

By sharob

Mums

I really dislike this house. I lived here with my ex for 2 years. It has a horrible feeling in it, like, the spirits aren't happy. There is so much tension and no communication. It's just an unhappy house. Nothing has been put together right, my step dad, a fire fighter for 25 years claims to be a jack of all trades, he can do loads, just shoddily. The floors creak where he didn't lay floor properly, the kitchen counters wobble as they're not fixed, the toilet seat moves, the bath tile grout is orange - it was only put up a year ago. Our room is half painted, the girls room has mucky hand prints (not from my children) on the walls. Since we've been here, Rob has cooked most nights, me and him have washed up most nights, I've cleaned the bathroom twice, swept the floor every day and kept our two rooms tidy. I've done a load of washing every day and hung it out but by the way comments and critises everything we don't do - like, we leave the back door unlocked when we go to work (force of habit, we never locked our house in the village!!) we don't pick up the children's shoes so Mum tripped (rather over exaggeratedly) over some at the bottom of the stairs and now her foot is absolutely killing her to the point where she says 'ouch' everytime she walks. The dog keeps walking in front of me (must trip over the dog in a very over the top way!!) oh yeah, I've fed their pets every day. Everytime I make a drink / something to eat I ask if she wants anything as she complains chronically that my brother is incredibly selfish and never offers to make anything and just sorts himself out. She never asks us to do stuff, she hints! I hoovered my room yesterday and she said 'the hallway and bathroom haven't been done for a while', told her that I actually hands and knee washed the bathroom floor, that didn't sink in and she said 'seeing as you've got the Hoover out you may as well do it again'. Nice. I'm not allowed to be right. Ever. Storm wouldn't sleep the other night so I took her for a power walk, it took an hour as Mum came with us. I estimated that we'd walked 3 miles, my step dad completely argued that I was wrong. I told him that my friend and I used to walk 4 miles in 50 minutes and he told me that I was ridiculous for suggesting that it was even possible. Last night, I was talking to Rob and our conversation got a little heated so Mum told me to get outside and sort my plants, even telling me 'thats not a request, I'm telling you to go!'. How rude. The other day she rubbed my tummy and told me that I was putting on weight. I'm aware of that fact but I really don't appreciate my Mum rubbing my tummy to tell me that. I can't argue even if I'm right because in this house, even if I'm right, I'm totally wrong. I'm feeling cramped and depressed.

2 weeks, 3 days to go.

Think I need to go ask the greater powers for some help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.