Just Simply Loving!

By nursingchronicl

Sing as We Go

This lovely surprise is a painting in acrylic by my second-born. He brought it home one day from school and gave it to me as his "new home" gift.

It is a replica of the tree I see everyday as I drive past the freeway. It now sits beautifully on the buffet table. He titled this, "A tree in the desert".

It reminds me of a poem I once wrote: Lost in the Busy Life. Our existence is not about constantly being on a chase: working hard to pay bills, meet deadlines, usually seeking the high that comes from a new object, a new feeling, a new emotion. If it's shiny and new, we want it whether it's a new gadget, a new buzz, a new love interest, or a new discovery. As a mum, with a full time career, I struggle with a dizzying array of demands each day. Try as I may, I simply cannot do it all and be it all perfectly.

But it's not all about that. This painting prompts me to remember that life, too, is taking time to stop, to be still. To hear crickets chirping beneath a star-filled sky, or to listen to waves rushing toward a sandy shore, or listening to birds singing in a sparkling fountain, or sing and dance in the rain!

Virgil Kraft once said, "Let us go singing as far as we go, the road will be less tedious."

Thank you, Jeddi! I love you, my son.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.