Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Allotment update

I've opted for a notebook blip today rather than an artistic one, mainly because I've spent a much of the day at the allotment. (Very hot and sunny this morning, overcast and still warm this afternoon.)

The most excitement of the day was when the rabbit escaped only to be caught by neighbourhood children, I'm surprised he didn't have a heart attack - he is very elderly and not very fit.

Allotment news:
The beans are coming along fine but are still probably a three weeks to a month away from producing a crop. The broad beans are all dug up and the crop in a carrier bag or given to neighbours. The dry weather has not worked in their favour and they've been covered in rust. In their place is Black Kale (Calvo Nero) and another batch of cabbage (Flowers of Spring). The tent city continues to grow in an attempt to keep out the cabbage white butterflies. They are looking a little sorry for themselves at the moment and the plants are a little on the large size for re-planting, but hopefully with tomorrows rain on them they'll perk up again!

The courgettes as coming along nicely, the ones in the photo are Romanesque which has a delicious flavour.

I really appreciate all the helpful comments I received yesterday - I haven't had time to work on the image again but a rainy Saturday might give me all the time I need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.