Circle of the Seasons

By GCleare

Garlic Bulbils

This is what garlic looks like after the flower goes to seed.

The little balls are called "bulbils" and you can eat them now, or plant them to grow more garlic for next year. The root bulbs are what we are used to seeing when we think of garlic. It's best to use the root bulbs from a first year plant as seeds for the second year, when the bulbs will be much larger.

Sad news today. Something got into the mockingbird nest last night and ate the babies. The Mama bird was sitting in the chestnut tree today, chirping mournfully.

I felt so bad for her!

No picture yet from yesterday. I went to Vermont and took portraits of Ashley, my daughter-in-law-to-be, in her wedding gown. It was fun! I will post them after the wedding (Aug. 13th) so my son doesn't see them too soon...you know, bad luck and all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.