Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

The Pen is Mightier than the Sword

During the winter, when I first started blipping, I came down to take pictures of this installation several times, but they never quite made it as the blip for the day.

I did feature another part of what is Europe's longest installation of Street Art in January, and I said a bit more about it then.

I'm glad I was walking in this part of campus today, as I realised that half of the hoardings have been taken away, as the new build behind them, The Green nears completion. I haven't had a chance to look around yet, but it's exciting to have such a bold, sustainable build on campus. This has probably been the most significant building project in Bradford over the past twelve months, and it will be interesting to see how it changes the shape and feel of the campus, and the surrounding area, when it's full of students in September.

Which brings me back to The Pen is Mightier than the Sword, which was my favourite section of Mohammed Ali's art work right from the beginning. Peace Studies is probably the most world-renowned course at the University of Bradford, and art like this resonates strongly with the Quaker origins of that department.

On a small photographic note, this is the first time that I've used a true panorama shot as a blip. I'm guessing the format doesn't display brilliantly within the constraints of the Blipfoto page, even though I have cropped this one slightly. I have small set of panorama shots here, where they are best viewed large. I'm still finding my feet with that format.

the sharp nib ~ of a pen ~ most powerful ~ sword ~ of all

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.